Diablo 4 Endgame Guide: What To Do After Beating The Story

Diablo 4 introduces players to a large world made up of multiple regions and a larger multi-act story that spans the open world of Sanctuary. Whether you blast through the story first or take your time and delve into optional dungeons and side quests before facing Lilith and completing the main story, there’s plenty more waiting for you in Post game – but it might not be obvious where all the new features and challenges are hiding.

No matter where and when you start these new adventures, we’ve got all the important information you’ll need to start the progression to level 100 and become the strongest adventurer in the land. Below are the most important new features that become available after beating the main story.

Tree of Whispers

You’ll come across the Whisper Tree during your time in Diablo 4’s main story, but it still has a role to play after the campaign, becoming a recurring font of increased experience gain and loot that you can partake in again and again. Again.

After the story, the Tree of Whispers will issue a variety of bounties, ranging from everything from dungeons to world bosses and more. Completing them will earn you Grim Favors, and once you’ve racked up ten, you can return to the tree to choose from several rewards that can be quite interesting. Remember that these bounties are timed, so don’t leave half of them finished! You can see even more tips and information in our Whispering Tree Guide.

Earning Paragon Points

While you don’t technically need to complete the main story to activate this feature, it’s likely that you’ll reach level 50 after completing all of the main acts. At level 50, the Paragon Board will become available to your character, allowing for additional customization outside of your primary skills. Each tableau contains different types of tiles that can offer anything from base stat increases to new legendary powers.

Leveling up after this point will earn you Paragon points and you can build your starting board to 8 other Paragon boards which all hold different bonuses. Which path you take can largely depend on the skills you use, so be sure to spend some time carefully scanning the board to plan your priority list. See more of our tips for planning in our Explanation of Paragon Points and Tables.

Capstone Dungeons

If you thought the Diablo 4 story was over after the Final Act, guess again! Diablo 4 introduced a set of challenging dungeon events called Capstone Dungeons, which can only be attempted once your character has reached specific power levels. By reaching level 50, level 75, and level 100, you will unlock access to these respective hard dungeons and their bosses.

Capstone dungeons are important not only for continuing the story, but also for unlocking new events and features that would otherwise remain hidden. The first Cathedral of Light Capstone dungeon in particular – available only at level 50 – is the only way to increase the difficulty of the world level and access more difficult challenges and features that will not appear otherwise and are mentioned below.

Raise the world level

Depending on how fast you want to clear the story, you may have completed the main acts of World Tier 1, or you may have moved things to World Tier 2 in the Kyovashad World Tier Statue for a more difficult adventure and a chance for more experience and loot. Things are only going to get tougher from now on, but you can’t just flip a switch to increase the risks and rewards.

Instead, to reach World Tier 3 Nightmare difficulty, you will need to complete the first Capstone dungeon which unlocks at level 50, And you have to beat it on tier 2 difficulty. This is the only way to spawn new events, like the Helltide and Nightmare Sigils events, as well as chances to earn new tiers of loot like holy and unique items. Reaching World Tier 4 will be even more difficult, as you will need to complete the second Capstone Dungeon at Level 75 while remaining on World Tier 3 difficulty! You are viewing our guide to all World Tier Bonuses and Challenges.

Helltide Events

One of the most enticing events unlocked by World Tier 3 difficulty mode, huge swathes of the open world of Diablo 4 will become host to demonic invasions, turning areas into red-marked danger zones on your map. for an hour from time to time, and in different parts of the world. While active, your goal is to fight as many demons as possible and participate in events to earn unique materials not found elsewhere.

Enemies you defeat, chests you open, and plants you harvest can contain new items such as Forgotten Souls, Fiend Roses, and Abberant Cinders which are extremely important for upgrading your best gear to become even better. You can consult our Helltide World Events Guide for more tips on how to make the most of your time in these areas.

Perhaps even more important is the abundance of special chests that only appear in Helltides, known as the Tortured Gifts. These will require the Aberrant Ashes you earn from completing events in a Helltide and can net you exceptional gear. The most sought after are the Helltide Mystery Chests called Tortured Gift of Mysteries, which have a chance to spawn in a few different locations in each Helltide zone.

Nightmarish dungeons and glyphs

The last big feature that unlocks at World Tier 3 is the ability to obtain Nightmare Seals and access extremely difficult Nightmare Dungeons. As these Sigils begin to drop you will find that they correspond to a specific dungeon in the world, and each Sigil also has a list of different positive and negative modifiers that will be active in the Nightmare version of the dungeon. Be sure to check out our Nightmare Dungeons Guide to learn more.

These dungeons can be incredibly difficult, as you’d expect, and only allow for a limited number of revives, but the rewards will be great. You can even start collecting seals to create even more difficult dungeons, which can help you win glyphs.

Glyphs are essentially perks that can be added to specific items in your Paragon board, and become even more self-sufficient based on nearby benefits selected near the outlet. You can consult our guide for How Glyphs Work for more information.

Leave a Comment